Personal Development – Part 3

Happy International Women’s Day! Today is the final, Part 3 segment to your Personal Development Plan! Read on…

Third Step – a formal plan doesn’t work for everyone so tailor your learning to what is right for you. So here are some tips…

  • Find a mentor – someone you look up to could help you create a plan, give you feedback and hold you accountable
  • Write down clear descriptions of where you are right now and/or where you want to be
  • Describe what you would be like with a new skill or attitude
  • Ensure your learning fits with your personal goals and that you’re motivated
  • Remember that your greatest learning in life comes from pushing outside of your comfort zone so don’t be afraid to step outside the box and challenge yourself
  • Creating a Personal Development Plan Template can help you set and record in a structured manner
  • Make every experience a learning experience and never stop being thankful

Example – here is an example of a Personal Development Plan, tailored to the learning of becoming a better Public Speaker!

  • Purpose – I am creating this plan to construct and record my learning towards becoming a better and more confident Public Speaker
  • Strengths – my willingness to learn and step outside of my comfort zone, I have been told I am a very congruent speaker when in a natural conversation
  • Weaknesses – my fear of being judged and not being well-prepared
  • Plan – I am going to take a Public Speaking Workshop and tell my family about my goal so they can support me throughout
  • Assess – I really enjoyed the Workshop, I feel more confident and my teacher has given me excellent tips on how to better prepare myself
  • Action – I am going to join the debate team at school to further my confidence and learning, and speak poetry aloud once a week
  • Reflect – I learned how to be more confident and better prepared. I was told I did very well by my teacher and peers. I achieved what I planned but I want to continue being better. My new learning and development needs are to keep learning and reaching towards being the best Public Speaker I can be

Today, don’t forget to acknowledge the fantastic women in your life. And to never stop working towards the woman (or man) you aspire to be.

Let Release Your Voice know how your Personal Development Plan helped empower you! On our Facebook Page: http://on.fb.me/WaMOYd or on Twitter: @ReleaseUrVoice

About releaseyourvoices

Release Your Voice with Pamela Hart: Public Speaking training based in Vancouver BC. We offer training seminars, oral presentation skills, corporate communication, private lessons or group training
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

