Dressing for success: the spooky version

The following entry is written by Pamela’s staff member, Katharine Sawchuk, who is (still) bouncing around Houston, Texas, drinking medium-sized root beers the size of her head, driving six-lane-wide freeways and eating smoked chicken. 

I don’t know about you but next to Fridays, Halloween is my favourite day. I wish I could call it a holiday; alas I am not that lucky. It’s the day you can stuff your face with as much calorie-laden, sugary candy as possible and no one will judge you. It’s also a day of disguise and dressing up. Super heros? Hollywood characters? Your boss? Go ahead and bust out that bald cap and coffee cup – this day is designed just for that.

OoooOOOoooOOOoooHHH! Happy Halloween!

Last year I dressed up as Tank Girl, (a post-apocalyptic outlaw super shero who drives a tank and calls a stuffed koala bear her best friend), and had a ball. I went to opening night of the Waldorf Hotel on Hastings for their massive Halloween party. The place was packed. I realized as I was making my way through the crowd of colourful costumes and peppy conversations, that people are really comfortable interacting with each other. I’d sit back to watch completely random people approach each other and discuss their costumes and the night in general.

It hit me most people need a little disguise to show off their personality. Not everyone can be confident off the bat and speak to total strangers with as much zeal as I witnessed that night. Some people need a little make-up – or a crazy wig…or a tail – to represent themselves the way they want.

Now, wouldn’t it be something if we could all strip away the capes and zombie-blood and be ourselves? What a concept! Wouldn’t it be nice to tell someone randomly on the street their outfit looks nice or their shoes are cool? What if someone did that to you? Just came up to you and said “I love your hair” and walked away? I know it would make me feel good and add a little pep to my step for the rest of the day.

I like telling strangers positive things I recognize about them. I feel if we all contributed this way a little bit every day, or even once a week, that positive attitude and compliment could carry on; jumping from person to person. At the end of the day though, everyone should be themselves in any fashion (literally), and you should only do what makes you comfortable.

So until then, indulge in those kit-kat bars, carve up some pumpkins and I hope you all have a safe and Happy Halloween!

About releaseyourvoices

Release Your Voice with Pamela Hart: Public Speaking training based in Vancouver BC. We offer training seminars, oral presentation skills, corporate communication, private lessons or group training
This entry was posted in Challenges, Observations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

