Pam takes a look at The King’s Speech!

Inspiring. Riveting and all around enjoyable. I have had many clients email and suggest very strongly that I see “The King’s Speech”.  I have procrastinated, but today I lived big. I took two hours off in the middle of the day to see the “Speech”. I was waiting to be impressed. I had heard so much. How could it live up to my expectations? Well for the first 20 minutes I was listening – as we fear our audiences sometimes listen – with a “oh I know this. This is a formula. Canned Speech.” kind of thinking…

I checked my Blackberry five times in 20 minutes.

Then it changed. I watched the relationship between Lionel and Albert develop. It was a mirror of the relationship Albert developed with the country and the microphone.

Here are the most important points: They used physical exercise to allow the brain to relax and think about what it wanted to say as opposed to how the person was being perceived. This is the age-old challenge. How do I stop thinking about me and my feelings and concentrate on what I want the audience to see, comprehend and envision? King Edward is a perfect example. He needs to see he must inspire his country. His intent is very strong.

Secondly he used ‘The Power of the Pause.’ When he began to stutter. Lionel told him to pause.

When you don’t know what to do, what should you do? Pause. If you speak in public this will happen to you. You’ve seen it happen to others; they stammer and sputter and even apologize. What should you do? Remain calm, look at your audience, pause and smile. If you panic you will lose your thoughts. When you smile, you look confident and your brain will get back on track.

Third: Breathe. Deep breathing sends a signal to your body that there is no stress, so there is no reason for anxiety. This signal interrupts the “Fight or Flight” response and tells the brain there is no need for panic. You are breathing so it is not a frightening situation. Your nervousness will be transformed into positive energy. Practice your deep breathing whenever you can. In your car.  On the bus.  At your desk.  Whenever you have a stressful situation; remember to take deep breaths – it will calm and reassure you.

 

About releaseyourvoices

Release Your Voice with Pamela Hart: Public Speaking training based in Vancouver BC. We offer training seminars, oral presentation skills, corporate communication, private lessons or group training
This entry was posted in Communication, Fun with Public Speaking, Goals. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

